Staff & Board of Directors

Our Staff

Luna Rey

Executive Director

Luna Rey is an energetic and innovative leader and educator who has worked with students from kindergarten through 12th grade through the Teach for America program prior to joining Mission Squash.

Luna received her Bachelor of Arts in American studies with a concentration in English from Columbia University, where her work focused heavily on problems of equity in education. While at Columbia, Luna worked in the Office of Financial Aid and Educational Finance, where she developed extensive knowledge of college admissions and financial aid and worked to provide more support for first-generation and low-income families. In addition, she taught Columbia’s year-long Freedom & Citizenship course to low-income high school seniors living in New York City.

In 2015, Luna was hired as the founding admissions coordinator for Portfolio School, a mixed-age, project-based school in Manhattan. During her time at Portfolio, she drew upon her experiences working in the High Tech High Graduate School of Education to connect with educators and curate creative and rigorous projects for her elementary school students. She looks forward to continuing this work with Mission Squash and developing meaningful and impactful work with her scholars.

Alexandra Platt

Academic Director

Alexandra Platt is a dedicated and passionate educator who has worked with students from sixth through 12th grade through the Teach for America organization.

Alexandra received her Bachelor of Science in mathematics and economics with a concentration in human development and family studies from the University of Delaware. During her studies, Alexandra worked as a peer tutor for the University of Delaware Office of Academic Enrichment, reaching over 100 students and spanning dozens of courses. In addition, she spent much of her time volunteering as a tutor and mentor for the local Boys & Girls Club in Newark, DE.

Prior to coming to Mission Squash, Alexandra taught Algebra I and Geometry for three years at Spring Woods High School in Spring Branch ISD. Through her innovative spirit, love for technology and strong values for independence, Alexandra was recognized with the SBISD Core Value “Every Child” Award for being the first on her campus to run a 100% technology-based classroom.

Alexandra is a firm believer that “education is the most powerful weapon that you can use to change the world” but only with adequate access and support. Alexandra is dedicated to lifelong service in low-income communities

Santiago Moran

Squash and Wellness Director

Santiago grew up in the Bronx, New York, graduating from Connecticut College with a BA in economics and minor in Latin American studies. He is an alumnus of the CitySquash program. With assistance and support from CitySquash, Santiago gained entrance to Avon Old Farms, one of the most prestigious boarding schools in the Northeast, with a full scholarship. He was part of their varsity squash team all four years.

After obtaining a further scholarship to Connecticut College, he played on the men’s squash team all four years and continued to grow as a player.

Santiago’s interests outside of squash include soccer and track and field. He is excited to serve Mission Squash and help the program and the scholars reach their goals.

Anna Buller

Program Assistant

Anna Buller is a Louisiana native and studied at Sowela Technical Community College, where she received an associate degree in commercial art. With an art concentration in photography, she worked as a photographer’s assistant and editor to local photographers and eventually started and co-ran her own photography business for two years.

After five years in the photography industry, life took Anna in a different direction, bringing her to Houston, Texas, where she was introduced to Mission Squash. Anna is very excited not only for the change of environment, but for the opportunity to work with volunteers, and help our Mission Squash scholars behind the scenes to stay on their path to success.

For information about joining one of our boards, please contact the executive director.

Board of Directors

Alistair Barnes, Chair
Arnaud Dasprez
Noor Iqbal
Chris Laporte
Stuart McGeoch
Charlie Neuhaus
Andrew Sprague
Carol Sugimoto
Alfredo Vilas

Advisory Council

Jim Pierce
Zia Rahman
Rick Wahlstedt
Alister Walker


WordPress Image Lightbox